What DoD Directive 8570.01 is All About and What It Means to You

Directive 8570.01 is an initiative that sets out to provide guidance and procedures for training, certification, and management of the Department of Defense (DoD) workforce that are in positions related to Information Assurance.

The agencies this directive is applicable to are the Office of the Secretary of Defense (OSD), the Military Departments, the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, the Combatant Commands, the Office of the Inspector General of the Department of Defense, the Defense Agencies, the DoD Field Activities, and all other organizational entities in the Department of Defense.

The objective of this directive is to give the DoD workforce a general and common understanding of the concepts and administrationof Information Assurance principles relevant to each “category, specialty, level and function to enhance protection and availability of DoD information, information systems, and networks.” Think of it as an Information Assurance Workforce Improvement Program. Through the use of standardized testing, the DoD will validate this working knowledge and the skills learned.

The certifications used in this validation program will have a strong connection to the Information Assurance workforce levels and duties. Over time, “certification holders must ensure that their certificates stay active. Expired certifications must be renewed and expired certifications are not to be considered in the workforce reports.” Also stated in the directive is that “within 6 months of assignment of IA duties, all IAT personnel must achieve the appropriate IA certification unless a waiver is granted.” “Personnel who are not appropriately certified within 6 months of assignment to a position or who fail to maintain their certification status shall not be permitted privileged access.”

The list of certifications that have been approved by the DoD are as follows:

SCNA (Security Certified Network Architect)
SCNP (Security Certified Network Professional)
SSCP (System Security Certified Practitioner)
CISSP (Certified Information Systems Security Professional)
GSEC (GIAC Security Essentials Certification)
GSEC (GIAC Security Essentials Certification)
GISF (GIAC Information Security Fundamentals)
GSLC (GIAC Security Leadership Certificate)
CISM (Certified Information Security Manager)
CISA (Certified Information Security Auditor )

How Can ITdojo Help?

To help get you or your staff in compliance with the DoD 8570.01 directive, ITdojo has several instructor-led seminars that along with giving you quality knowledge that will help you with your Information assurance position, will also help you with your preparation for several of the qualifying certifications listed above.

Our current offerings include:

Security Fundamentals (Security+ Certification Training)
Network Fundamentals (Network+ Certification Training)
CISSP Preparation Training
SSCP Preparation Training